الدكتور سامي خوري

الطبيب المؤسس مستشفى فلسطين دكتور سامي خوري في عيادته في المستشفى في عمان الأردن عام ١٩٦٠
 

ولد في نابلس بتاريخ 20 أيار 1922 الأخ الأصغر لسبعة إخوة. والده المعلم سليم نقولا خوري ووالدته حنة سمعان حرب. ترعرع في بيت اتسم بطابعه الثقافي والمحافظ لعائلة من الطبقة الوسطى. إنتقل مع العائلة إلى مدينة جنين في عام 1930 ثم استقرت العائلة في مدينة القدس. التحق بمدرسة سانت جورج في القدس وتخرج منها في عام 1940 ثم التحق بالجامعة الأمريكية في بيروت حيث درس الطب وتخرج منها في عام 1946 حيث عمل بعدها في مستشفيات حكومية في القدس ويافا ونابلس لغاية 1950. ذهب إلى بريطانيا للتخصص حيث تلقى تدريبه في مستشفيات ادنبرة ولندن وكان أول أردني يحصل على شهادة الزمالة من الكلية الملكية البريطانية للجراحين في عام 1952. عاد إلى مدينة القدس بعد ذلك ليرأس قسم الجراحة في مستشفى المطلع ولغاية 1960.

حصل على شهادة الزمالة من الكلية الأمريكية للجراحين بالإضافة إلى شهادة الزمالة من الكلية العالمية للجراحين في عام 1954 وذهب إلى أمريكا بدعم من مؤسسة فولبرايت للتخصص في مجال جراحة القلب والصدر في مستشفى جونز هوبكنز في مدينة بلتيمور ومستشفى جورج واشنطن في مدينة واشنطن في عام 1955. كان أول من استخدم جهاز التخدير المغلق في الأردن في عام 1956 الأمر الذي مكنه من إجراء عمليات على القلب والرئتين ليصبح مستشفى المطلع المركز الأردني للجراحة الصدرية. أسس أول بنك دم في الأردن بمساعدة المرحوم الدكتور جميل التتنجي وزير الصحة آنذاك كما أسس أول مدرسة للتمريض في الأردن في مستشفى المطلع.

أسس الدكتور سامي مستشفى فلسطين الذي افتتح برعاية ملكية بتاريخ 22 حزيران 1960 بعد تكليفه بالمهمة من قبل المغفور له الحسين بن طلال ليكون مركزاً متطوراً للجراحة وطنياً وإقليمياً وإداره بمساعدة زوجته جريتا. وفي 30 كانون ثاني 1962 أشرف على ولادة جلالة الملك عبدالله الثاني بن الحسين في مستشفى فلسطين. وفي بداية الستينات أسس جمعية Save the Children بمساعدة الجمعية البريطانية وبرئاسة سمو الأميرة بسمة بنت طلال المعظمة وكان للجمعية دور كبير في تحسين صحة الأطفال في المناطق النائية آنذاك. كمدير لمستشفى فلسطين بادر بتوفير العلاج للمرضى المحتاجين من خلال تأسيس صندوق خاص في المستشفى لهذه الغاية وصندوق آخر بإسم صندوق سانيا برعاية الكنيسة الأسقفية العربية خاص بالأطفال. أما على الصعيد المهني فقد عرف بعمله النقابي حيث أسس جمعية الجراحين الأردنية وكان رئيسها الأول في عام 1972 وكان له دور كبير في تأسيس جمعية أصحاب المستشفيات الخاصة بغاية تنظيم العمل في القطاع الطبي الخاص في الأردن.

تقاعد د. سامي من العمل الإداري في عام 1985 ولكنه ما زال رئيساً للمستشفى ليومنا هذا، كما تقاعد من العمل الطبي في عام 1987 عدا عن معالجة الأصدقاء والفقراء. خدم في مناصب تطوعية عديدة في الكنيسة الأسقفية العربية في القدس والشرق الأوسط منها نائب لرئيس المجمع الكنسي كما خدم في عدد من الجمعيات الخيرية والهيئات التطوعية.

ولدوره المميز في تطوير الطب في الأردن قلد د. سامي بوسام الكوكب من الطبقة الاولى والثالثة ووسام النهضة من الطبقة الثانية كما قلدت زوجته جريتا بوسام الكوكب من الطبقة الثالثة، هذا وقد تم تكريمه من مؤسسات وجمعيات وجهات عديدة على خدماتها المهنية والوطنية والإنسانية.

Dr. Sami Khoury

Dr. Sami Khoury in his clinic at Palestine Hospital in 1960 Amman Jordan writting prescription after seeing a patient
 

Dr. Sami was the youngest of 7 children, born on the 20th of May 1922 to Mr. Salim Nikola Khoury and Mrs. Hanneh Sama'an Harb in Nablus. He was raised in a middle class cultured and conservative family. His family moved to Jenin in 1930 and eventually settled down in Jerusalem. Dr. Sami graduated from Saint George's School in Jerusalem in 1940 and finished his medical degree from the American University of Beirut in 1946. After that, he worked in numerous government hospitals in Jerusalem, Nablus, and Jaffa. Dr. Sami went to specialize in general surgery in the UK where he received his training in London and Edinburgh and was the first Jordanian to become a fellow under the Royal College of Surgeons in 1952. Dr. Sami went back to Jerusalem and became the head of the surgical department at Augusta Victoria Hospital till 1960.

Dr. Sami received his fellowship from the American College of Surgeons as well as the International College of Surgeons in 1954. He later went to the US with the support of the Fulbright Scholarship Program and specialized in heart and chest surgery at John's Hopkins Hospital in Baltimore and George Washington Hospital in Washington D.C. in 1955. He was the first Jordanian to use a closed anaesthesia system in Middle East which enabled him undergo heart and chest surgery, and made Augusta Victoria a regional hospital for thoracic surgery. Dr. Sami established the first blood bank with the help of Dr. Jamil Tutunji, who was the minister of health at the time. He also established the first nursing school in Jordan at the Augusta Victoria Hospital.

Dr. Sami established Palestine Hospital under the patronage of the late King Hussein on the 22nd of June 1960, and strived to make it an advanced center of surgery nationally and regionally with the help of his wife Greta. He supervised the birth of HRH King Abdullah the II on the 30th of January 1962 in the hospital. He also established Save the Children association in Jordan with the help of the association in the UK under the leadership of Princess Basma bin Talal which played an important role in improving the health of children in impoverished areas. Dr. Sami also established the Sania Fund under the patronage of the Episocal Anglican Church with the aim of subsidizing children from poor families. He also established the Jordanian Society of Surgeons in 1972 and played an important role in establishing the private hospital association with the aim of improving the private healthcare sector in Jordan.

Dr. Sami retired from his administrative role in 1985 and from his medical role later in 1987. He served in numerous volunteer positions in the Episocal Anglican Church in Jerusalem and the Middle East including the head of the Church. He also served in numerous charitable and volunteer institutions.

For his distinguished role in developing medical care in Jordan, Dr. Sami was awarded the Order of the Jordanian Planet of the first and third class as well as the Supreme Order of the Renaissance of the second class and his wife Greta was awarded the Order of the Jordanian Planet of the second class. Dr. Sami has been awarded numerous other honors from many societies and institutions for his professional, national and humanitarian services.